Product SiteDocumentation Site

Chapter 16. Sharing your desktop

16.1. GNOME
16.2. KDE
16.3. Other desktops

Use this capability carefully

Remote desktop sharing can be a serious security risk. You should leave it turned on only when needed and should not leave it active.
Fedora lets you share your desktop remotely across a network, so that a user at a different computer can view and – with your permission – interact with your computer. This is useful for receiving technical support from a remote location or for demonstrating a desktop feature to another user. You may also find it to be a useful way to remotely access files on your desktop from another computer.
Fedora uses a method called Virtual Networking Computing (VNC) to enable remote desktop sharing. Therefore, the remote viewer must use VNC as well. Apple OS X uses VNC by default, but Microsoft Windows uses a different method to share desktops, called Remote Desktop Connection (RDC). To access your Fedora desktop from a computer with a Microsoft Windows operating system, that computer will need a VNC viewer. TightVNC is a free and open-source VNC program available for Linux and Microsoft Windows from http://www.tightvnc.com/.

16.1. GNOME

To activate desktop sharing, select System Preferences Remote Desktop from the user menu. This opens the Remote Desktop Preferences window.
To share your desktop securely:
  1. Under Sharing, tick the box labeled Allow other users to view your desktop.
  2. Next, tick the box next to Allow other users to control your desktop.
  3. Under Security, tick the box next to You must confim each access to this machine.
  4. Next, check Require the user to enter this password and enter a password. This should not be your account's password; pick a new password that you will only reveal to the remove viewer.
  5. Finally, click on the Close button.
Be sure to inform the person performing remote technical support or remote viewing the assigned password. When the person connects to your desktop, click on the Yes button when asked for confirmation.
Once the remote viewing feature is no longer needed, turn off desktop sharing:
  1. Select System Preferences Remote Desktop.
  2. Uncheck the Allow other users to view your desktop box.
  3. Click the Close button.