Product SiteDocumentation Site

5.4.2. Installation Summary

The Installation Summary screen is the central location for setting up an installation. Most of the options which can be configured during the installation can be accessed from here.
Installation Summary
The Installation Summary screen, showing most of the options configured. The Installation Destination icon has a warning sign, which means it requires the user's attention before the installation can proceed.
Figure 5.3. Installation Summary

Note

If you used a Kickstart option or a boot option to specify an installation repository on a network, but no network is available at the start of the installation, the installer will display the Network Configuration screen for you to set up a network connection prior to displaying the Installation Summary screen.
The summary screen consists of several links to other screens, separated into categories. These links can be in several different states, which are graphically indicated:
A warning message is displayed at the bottom of the summary screen, and the Begin Installation button is greyed out, as long as at least one item has not been configured yet.
Icon States in Installation Summary
A screenshot of several icons in the Installation Summary screen, showing the different states (configured, needs attention, unavailable).
Figure 5.4. Icon States in Installation Summary

Each screen also has an explanatory text below its title, showing settings currently configured in that screen. This text may be concatenated; in that case, move your mouse cursor over it and wait until a tooltip with the full text appears.
Tooltip in the Installation Summary
An entry in the Installation Summary shows a truncated description and a tooltip with full text.
Figure 5.5. Tooltip in the Installation Summary

Once you configure everything required for the installation, you can press the Begin Installation button to start installing Fedora. This will take you to Section 5.4.13, “Configuration and Installation Progress”. Note that as the text below this button says, nothing will be written to your hard drive before you press this button. You can press Quit at any point; this will discard all changes you made in the installer so far and reboot the system.