Product SiteDocumentation Site

Rolling Back Transactions

The --rollback option to the rpm command allows you to roll back upgrades based on a time. Use a command like the following:
# rpm –U --rollback "3 months ago"
The --rollback option is very limited in what it can do. The --rollback option works only for packages that have been upgraded. You cannot rollback the initial installation of a package. This is to prevent you from accidentally rolling back all packages.
The --rollback option works best if you want to restore the system to a previous state, prior to performing any other RPM operations. That is, soon after you upgraded a package and decide that it isn’t working right. If you have modified the RPM system after performing the transaction you want to rollback, there may be unintended consequences if any new package depends on the packages you want to roll back. In addition, the --rollback option only works in limited situations but does not always report when these conditions are not met. The rpm command may simply do nothing, or it may remove packages you do not expect.
Warning
Before running the --rollback option, backup your RPM database as described in Chapter 4, Using the RPM Database .
Because of all these limitations, rollbacks do not work in all situations. In place of the --rollback option, you can use the query shortcuts introduced in Chapter 4, Using the RPM Database and find the packages you have installed recently (if that is what you want to roll back). In this case, you can use the rpm command to remove the packages you want to get rid of and reinstall the packages you want to restore.
In many cases, this manual approach is safest, and you will have a clearer understanding about what was installed or upgraded on your system.