Updates, Upgrades & Rollbacks
Installing updates with Silverblue is easy and fast (much faster than other operating systems). It also has a special rollback feature, in case anything goes wrong.
OS updates in Silverblue are fully integrated into the desktop: you will be automatically notified when an update is available. The standard behavior is to automatically download the update (this can be changed from the update preferences in Software).
Once an update is ready, it is just a matter of rebooting to start using the new version. There is no waiting for the update to be installed during this reboot.
If you’d prefer, it is also possible to update using the command line. To do this, run:
$ rpm-ostree upgrade
This will check for new updates and download and install them if they are available. Alternatively, to check for available updates without downloading them, run:
$ rpm-ostree upgrade --check
Upgrading between major versions (such as from Fedora 29 to Fedora 30) is not
fully integrated into Silverblue at this time. However, Silverblue can be
upgraded between major versions using the
For example, to upgrade from Fedora Silverblue 29 to Silverblue 30, the commands are:
$ sudo ostree remote gpg-import fedora-workstation -k /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-30-primary $ rpm-ostree rebase fedora-workstation:fedora/30/x86_64/silverblue
The process is very similar to a system update: the new OS is downloaded and installed in the background, and you just boot into it when it is ready.
Silverblue keeps a record of the previous OS version, which can be switched to instead of the latest version. While this shouldn’t usually be necessary, it can be helpful if there is a problem with an update or an upgrade (rollbacks work the same way for both), as well as for development purposes.
There are two ways to roll back to the previous version:
Temporary rollbacks: to temporarily roll back to a previous version, simply reboot and select the previous version from the boot menu (often known as the grub menu).
Permanant rollbacks: to permanently switch back to the previous deployment, use the
After rolling back, you will technically be on an old OS version, and may be prompted to update. Updating will undo the rollback, so should be avoided if you want the rollback to stay in effect.