Updates, Upgrades & Rollbacks
Installing updates with Silverblue is easy and fast (much faster than other operating systems). It also has a special rollback feature, in case anything goes wrong.
OS updates in Silverblue are fully integrated into the desktop; you will be automatically notified when an update is available. The standard behavior is to automatically download the update (this can be changed from the update preferences in Software).
Once an update is ready, it is just a matter of rebooting to start using the new version. There is no waiting for the update to be installed during this reboot.
If you’d prefer, it is also possible to update using the command line. To do this, run:
$ rpm-ostree upgrade
This will check for new updates and download and install them if they are available. Alternatively, to check for available updates without downloading them, run:
$ rpm-ostree upgrade --check
Upgrading between major versions (such as from Fedora 35 to Fedora 36) can be completed using the Software application.
Alternatively, Silverblue can be upgraded between major versions using the
First, verify the branch is available. You can print all available branches with this command:
$ ostree remote refs fedora | grep silverblue
After you verify the name of your branch, you are ready to proceed. For example, to upgrade to Silverblue 36, the command is:
Currently, the default remote for Silverblue 36 is named
$ rpm-ostree rebase fedora:fedora/36/x86_64/silverblue
The process is very similar to a system update: the new OS is downloaded and installed in the background, and you just boot into it when it is ready.
Silverblue keeps a record of the previous OS version, which can be switched to instead of the latest version. While this shouldn’t usually be necessary, it can be helpful if there is a problem with an update or an upgrade (rollbacks work the same way for both), as well as for development purposes.
There are two ways to roll back to the previous version:
Temporary rollbacks: to temporarily roll back to a previous version, simply reboot and select the previous version from the boot menu (often known as the grub menu).
Permanent rollbacks: to permanently switch back to the previous deployment, use the
After rolling back, you will technically be on an old OS version, and may be prompted to update. Updating will undo the rollback, so should be avoided if you want the rollback to stay in effect.